Choosing a calorie app

Foodvisor vs Calsa: Coached Program or Plain Food Log

The version at no cost is a manual food diary, and Premium adds photo analysis, daily courses and fasting programs. The US App Store lists ten purchase rows from $14.99 to $89.99.

Key takeaways

  • The version at no cost covers a manual food diary, and Premium adds photo analysis, daily courses, recipes and fasting programs.
  • The US App Store lists ten purchase rows from $14.99 to $89.99, and the same row name can carry different prices.
  • No standard trial length is stated on the pages I read, and the US store lists two rows named trial that cost money.
  • Deleting the account does not cancel the subscription, so cancel in the store or on the site you paid through.
  • I found no self-service export, only a data portability right listed in the privacy policy.

Foodvisor vs Calsa comes down to a program or a plain log. Foodvisor wraps your logging in daily lessons, fasting plans and photo analysis, and it has a version at no cost for manual entry. Calsa is a paid food log. Every number shows where it came from. I read Foodvisor’s terms, Help Center and four App Store storefronts for this comparison.

What does an ordinary day of logging look like in each app?

Foodvisor’s US store listing describes logging by meal photo, voice, typed search and barcode, plus saved favorites. In the version at no cost, the Help Center says you log meals by hand in the food diary. Meal analysis from a photo sits in its Premium list. So the same lunch takes two shapes: a typed entry on one plan, and a picture that returns a nutritional breakdown on the other.

After the meal, Premium adds daily summaries with food recommendations and daily courses on nutrition, psychology and motivation. The store text also describes daily quests that grow a “seed”. Each day carries a small task. That suits some people and not others.

A Calsa lunch starts with one line. You type or say “oatmeal 250 g, banana”, and several foods fit in a single line. Speech turns into text on your phone. A photo works as well: Calsa names the foods, suggests grams, and you confirm the portion, with oil and dressing on a line of their own. Packaged food goes through the barcode scanner. UK and Australian products are included. If a barcode finds no match, photograph the nutrition label instead.

Quick add takes only a calorie number, with no AI involved. Search lets you pick several foods at once, and the ones you usually eat at that meal show up first. Each entry lands in the right meal based on when you ate it, and the day screen shows what’s left after every entry.

To repeat yesterday’s dinner, open that day and tap “Copy to today”, then pick the whole day, one meal or only certain foods. Logging works offline. Your last 7 days open without a connection either.

What do you get at no cost, and what needs a subscription?

At registration, Foodvisor has you choose the free version or a paid subscription. The terms of use call the app and its general features free of charge and describe personalized coaching by a nutrition professional as a Premium service. The Google Play page also notes that the app contains ads, and the store text lists “no ads” under Premium.

Foodvisor, no cost Foodvisor Premium Calsa, every plan
Manual food diary Yes Not listed separately Type or say it, with grams
Photo meal analysis No, per the Help Center Yes Yes, you confirm the portion
Daily courses and expert articles with meal plans No Yes None
Recipes Not stated Hundreds of diet-friendly recipes Your own recipes, or ask the chat for one that fits what’s left
Macro split customization No Yes Edit calories or macros and the other adjusts
Fasting programs Not stated All programs, per the store text None
Workout sessions Not stated Unlimited, per the store text None; activity comes from Apple Health or Health Connect
Ads Yes, per Google Play No ads, per the store text No ad networks or tracking SDKs

Outside the subscription there’s one more purchase. A Sport & Meal Plan bundle is a one-time purchase with video workout programs and 28 days of menus.

Calsa’s structure is simpler to describe. It has three plans, Calsa Start, Calsa and Calsa Premium. Every plan has all of the tracking, and what changes is the AI chat. The chat sees your diary, your goal and your weight trend, and its numbers come from the food database. It is labelled as AI and never messages you first. You can ask by voice, fix an entry in words (“the rice was 100 g”) and see or delete what it remembers.

The weekly review, up to two ideas for the week, and the two chat tools for menus and fridge photos come with Calsa and Calsa Premium. The monthly review, written by a larger model, and answers read aloud are Calsa Premium only. Foodvisor’s store text mentions AI for photo recognition and a personalized program built by nutrition experts. I found no page describing a chat.

How much does Foodvisor cost on each storefront?

I found no prices on Foodvisor’s own pages. The Help Center article on cost says the price varies by region, platform and promotions, and that you see it in the app. So the App Store rows are what I could read. Each storefront shows ten purchases, and I read all four.

Storefront Lowest row Highest row Rows with “trial” in the name Rows for 3 months
United States $14.99 (“1 month of Foodvisor”) $89.99 (“3 months of Foodvisor”) 2, at $59.99 and $71.99 $59.99 and $89.99
United Kingdom £11.99 (“Foodvisor Premium”) £59.99 (“Foodvisor Premium trial”) 1, at £59.99 £24.00 and £49.99
Canada $11.99 (“Foodvisor Premium”) $79.99 (“Foodvisor Premium trial”) 2, at $76.99 and $79.99 $30.00, $45.99 and $70.99
Australia $14.99 (“Foodvisor Premium”) $124.99 (“3 months of Foodvisor”) 1, at $88.99 $29.99, $35.00, $53.99, $83.99 and $124.99

The names rarely state a period, and the store page doesn’t say why two rows with the same name cost different amounts. Do the division where a length is named. The US rows called “3 months of Foodvisor” work out to $20.00 a month at $59.99 and $30.00 a month at $89.99. The US rows called “1 month of Foodvisor” run from $14.99 to $39.99, a $25.00 spread for the same period. That’s a wide gap. In Australia, “3 months of Foodvisor” costs $35.00 in one row and $124.99 in another, which is $11.67 against $41.66 a month.

Trials are the murky part. I found no standard trial length on any page I opened. The Help Center describes a referral program that gives the referred user a 14-day free trial, followed by a 3-month subscription. The Help Center says the user chooses the trial price. The US store lists two “trial” purchases that cost money. Whatever the screen calls a trial, read the billing period and the total before you confirm. Both should be on it.

Subscriptions can be bought through the App Store, Google Play or the website, and the terms say website purchases take a credit card only.

Calsa’s price handling is plain by comparison. You see the price, the trial length, the first charge date and how to cancel before anything else, and a reminder arrives before the trial ends. Your price doesn’t change while your subscription is active. The three prices live on the billing page, so I’m leaving numbers out of this comparison.

Where do the numbers come from, and how do you leave?

On the pages I read, Foodvisor does not state where the numbers in its food database come from. The store text lists calories, macros, vitamins, minerals, weight, hydration and activity as things the app tracks. It also makes a claim. Users lose an average of 15.83 lb in 3 months, based on an internal study of 4,419 users in January 2026 with an average BMI of 34.72. I can’t test that, and it describes the users in the study, not you.

Calsa shows its work. Each entry names where its calories come from and the math, “per 100 g × grams”. An amount you haven’t confirmed is marked “estimate”. Enter the same food twice and the number matches, and past days never change without telling you. A wrong shared food gets reported from its entry, and the shared record changes after review.

Leaving is where the two differ most. Foodvisor’s cancellation article says to cancel on the platform you paid through. For Apple that means Settings, your Apple ID, Subscriptions, Foodvisor, Cancel. For the website it’s Manage my account, then Manage next to Subscription Status, then Disable Auto Renew. Deleting your account does not cancel the subscription. A refund has to be requested within 14 days, and cancelling alone doesn’t trigger one.

Your history is harder to take along. I found no self-service export in Foodvisor. Its privacy policy, updated November 18th 2025, lists a right to data portability, which is a request you make rather than a button you press.

In Calsa you cancel the same way you subscribed, and no screen tries to talk you out of it. When a subscription ends you can still read, export and delete everything, and your history is there if you come back. Export is on every plan, and account deletion works from the app or the web.

Foodvisor vs Calsa: where do they differ, and who should pick which?

Everything about Foodvisor in this article comes from its terms, Help Center, privacy policy and store pages as they stood. I never opened its paid screens. Calsa publishes this blog, so weigh the right-hand column as the view of an interested party.

Foodvisor Calsa
Platforms iOS and Android Web, iPhone, iPad and Android, on one account
Starting point A version at no cost with a manual diary Paid from the start, with price, trial and cancel path shown before any question
Ways to log Photo, voice, typed search, barcode, favourites Type or say, photo, barcode, label photo, search with grams, quick add
Source behind a number Not stated on the pages I read Each entry shows its source and “per 100 g × grams”
US price rows $14.99 to $89.99 across ten rows Price on screen before any question
Trial Standard length not stated; “trial” rows cost money Length shown up front, with a reminder before it ends
Games and community Daily quests, a growing seed, a community No streaks, badges or social feed
Export None found; a portability right in the privacy policy Everything, on any plan
Cancelling In the store or site you bought from; deleting the account doesn’t cancel The way you subscribed

Where Calsa is weaker: Foodvisor’s version at no cost handles manual logging, while Calsa asks for a subscription from day one. It has no daily lessons, no fasting programs, no workout videos, no community, no manual workout entry and no watch app. Foodvisor’s store text lists vitamins and minerals in a full meal analysis. Calsa’s default view shows calories, protein, fat, carbs, fiber and sugar, with more nutrients on request.

Choose something else if you want a version at no cost, daily lessons, fasting programs, workout videos or a community.

Here are four readers and where I’d point each.

A reader who wants to be taught gets more from Foodvisor. Its courses, articles with meal plans and personalized program exist for exactly that, and Calsa has nothing like them.

Plenty of people aren’t sure they’ll keep logging past week two. For them the version at no cost is the better first step, since you can drop it without having paid anything.

A home cook who also eats out, and who wants to trace every figure, will like Calsa better. Recipes can be built from ingredients or a photo, chain restaurant dishes carry the numbers the chain publishes, and every entry shows its math.

The fourth reader is tired of streaks. Foodvisor attaches a daily quest to each day, while Calsa has nothing to keep alive. Reminders go quiet if you miss a week, and one logged entry gets you back in.

How do you move from Foodvisor to Calsa?

Don’t cancel first. Deleting a Foodvisor account leaves the subscription running, and a refund needs a request within 14 days. Dates first. Work out which ones matter before you touch anything.

  1. Note where you bought: App Store, Google Play or the website. That decides where the cancel button is.
  2. Log one ordinary day in both apps. Weigh a meal, enter it by photo in each and compare the portions and the totals.
  3. Ask Foodvisor for your data under the portability right in its privacy policy. I found no button, so allow time for an answer.
  4. Set up Calsa. A short quiz gives you a calorie goal, or you can track without one. Calsa won’t save a goal below its safe calorie floor, and it explains why.
  5. Connect Apple Health or Health Connect. Weight, steps and active energy come in, and food and water go back out.
  6. Cancel Foodvisor in the store you used once you’re happy.

If your old history arrives as a CSV file, Calsa can import a CSV and shows a preview before anything is saved. I haven’t tested whether a Foodvisor file fits it. Your own foods and recipes are quick to rebuild and stay private to your account. The checks that apply to any switch are in how to choose a calorie counter app. Foodvisor’s plans get more room in is Foodvisor free, and every comparison sits under choosing a calorie app.

Questions and answers

Is Foodvisor free?

Partly. The Help Center says the free version lets you log meals by hand in the food diary. Photo meal analysis, daily courses, recipes and custom macro ratios are listed as Premium.

Does Foodvisor have a free trial?

No standard trial length is stated on any page I read. The Help Center describes a 14-day free trial for people who join through the referral program, and the US store lists two purchases named trial that cost $59.99 and $71.99.

How much does Foodvisor Premium cost?

The US App Store listed ten purchase rows from $14.99 to $89.99. The UK, Canada and Australia storefronts show their own ranges, and I found no price on its website.

How do you cancel Foodvisor and get a refund?

Cancel on the platform you bought through: Apple, Google Play or the website. Deleting the account doesn't cancel the subscription. A refund must be requested within 14 days, and cancelling alone does not trigger one.

Can you export your data from Foodvisor?

I found no self-service export. The privacy policy, updated November 18th 2025, lists a right to data portability, so you request your data instead of downloading it.

Sources

  1. Foodvisor - AI Calorie Counter, US App Store listing, Apple App Store
  2. Foodvisor - AI Calorie Counter, UK App Store listing, Apple App Store
  3. Foodvisor - AI Calorie Counter, Canada App Store listing, Apple App Store
  4. Foodvisor - AI Calorie Counter, Australia App Store listing, Apple App Store
  5. Foodvisor on Google Play, Google Play
  6. Is Foodvisor free?, Foodvisor Help Center, Foodvisor
  7. How much does the Foodvisor subscription cost?, Foodvisor Help Center, Foodvisor
  8. How to cancel my plan, Foodvisor Help Center, Foodvisor
  9. Foodvisor terms of service, Foodvisor
  10. Foodvisor privacy policy (updated November 18th 2025), Foodvisor

About the author

Claire Donovan

Editor, Calsa blog

Claire edits the Calsa blog. She writes about calorie counting, protein and the small questions that come up in your first weeks of tracking.

All articles by Claire

Put the numbers to work.

The guides show where each number comes from. In Calsa you log a meal by photo, voice or barcode, check the grams, and every calorie shows its source.

Log my first meal
A snack board of hummus, carrot and cucumber sticks, crackers, cheese, grapes and walnutsCalsa entry details: 71 kcal per 100 g times 250 g, with USDA as the source