BitePal App Alternative: Pet-Style Tracking or a Plain Diary
Decide whether you want a pet or a plain diary, then check the plan. Weekly prices start at $3.99, which is $207.48 over 52 weeks, and App Store refunds must be requested within 48 hours.
Key takeaways
- Its help page says App Store and Google Play refunds must be requested within 48 hours, and web refunds within 30 days of the first payment.
- The cheapest weekly price on the US App Store list was $3.99, which is $207.48 over 52 weeks against $59.99 for the highest "Annual Subscription".
- Deleting the app does not cancel the subscription, so cancel in the store you paid in.
- The listing describes a raccoon, a nutrition score per meal, fasting windows and weekly meal plans, so a switch drops those.
- I found no data export, no trial length and no description of the free version on its official pages.
Choosing a BitePal app alternative starts with the raccoon: do you want a pet that reacts to your meals, or just a diary? Then check the plan. BitePal’s help center says an App Store refund has to be requested within 48 hours, and the cheapest weekly plan on its US listing, $3.99, comes to $207.48 over 52 weeks. I also found no data export or free-version description on its pages.
I read BitePal’s help pages and its App Store listings and quote only what they say. Where a page is silent, I say so.
What do you get with BitePal, and what is a plain diary?
BitePal is a photo-first tracker with a pet. The US listing says the AI scanner reads food from a photo and shows a nutrition score and highlights. You also customize a raccoon with outfits and accessories, and it reacts to what you eat. The same page lists water tracking, fasting windows with reminders and weekly meal plans with recipes.
A plain diary skips both. It records what you ate and the grams, then adds up the day. I’d pick the diary, because by week six a pet’s reactions have stopped being news and the entries have to stand on their own. Fitia sits at the other end of the choice, a meal planner with a counter attached, and the Fitia app alternative article covers it.
Some basics are missing from the pages I opened. The listing shows the app as free to download with in-app purchases, but none of the pages I opened say what works without paying. Barcode scanning, voice and text logging are not stated on its pages either. Test them in the app before you rely on them. To test the scanner, weigh one plate and compare, which is the method in the Calo app alternative article. The rest of my first-day checks are in how to choose a calorie counter app.
How much does BitePal cost?
Several prices share each name, and the listing doesn’t say which one you will be offered. This is what the lists showed.
| Purchase name | US listing | UK listing |
|---|---|---|
| Weekly Subscription | $3.99, $4.99 and $5.99 | £3.99 and £4.99 |
| Annual Subscription | $19.99, $35.99 and $59.99 | £19.99, £34.99 and £59.99 |
| BitePal Yearly 23.99 | $23.99 | £22.99 |
| Pookies Pro Monthly | $9.99 | £9.99 |
| BitePal 400 Bitecoins Pack | $0.99 | £0.99 |
Do the weekly math first. At $3.99, 52 weeks cost 52 × $3.99 = $207.48, and at $5.99 they cost $311.48. The highest “Annual Subscription” price on the same US list is $59.99, so the cheapest weekly route is still more than three times that. Read the period on the payment sheet.
The billing page adds two things. Add-ons such as a Custom Meal Plan or a Vitamin Guide are billed apart from the main subscription, and the page names two likely causes of an unexpected charge: an add-on, or active subscriptions on more than one platform. It says nothing about trials, and it doesn’t explain Bitecoins. I found no official trial length anywhere on the site.
How do you leave BitePal without paying twice?
Cancel in the store you paid in, and don’t count on deleting the app. The cancellation page gives three paths. On iOS: Settings, your name, Subscriptions, BitePal, Cancel Subscription. On Android: Google Play, profile icon, Payments & Subscriptions, Subscriptions, BitePal. On the web: Settings, Manage Subscription. The billing page answers it plainly: deleting the app does not cancel the subscription.
Refund windows are short. Apple and Google refund requests must be made within 48 hours, web requests within 30 days of the first payment, and a renewal charge also has a 48-hour window. Put the renewal date in your calendar the day you start. Refund rules can differ by plan inside one app, too, as the Healthify app alternative piece shows for a coach purchase against an AI-only one.
Your data is the open question. The help page says nothing about export or account deletion, and the account page doesn’t either. Ask support by email before you delete the account, and in the meantime write down your usual meals with grams. That list moves to any app.
Which BitePal features would I miss, and which would I gain?
I set what BitePal’s own pages say next to what Calsa has built today. A longer pairing, with price rows from four storefronts, is BitePal vs Calsa.
| If you use this | BitePal, from its pages | Calsa |
|---|---|---|
| Logging | photo scan; other methods not stated | type or say it with grams, photo, barcode, label photo, or type just the calories |
| Score and character | a nutrition score per scanned meal, and a raccoon that reacts to food | no food scores, no mascot |
| Fasting | fasting windows with reminders | no fasting |
| Meal plans | weekly meal plans with recipes and portions | no weekly meal plans, a recipe for what is left in your day instead |
| Water | water intake tracking | counts water by the glass, plus the fluid in what you log |
| In-app currency | a Bitecoins pack sold for $0.99 | no coins or credits, extra chat messages come in a plain pack priced in money |
| Billing periods | weekly, monthly and annual | monthly or yearly only |
| Data export | none found | export everything, on any plan |
| Tracking | the listing declares Purchases, User Content, Identifiers, Usage Data, Diagnostics and Other Data under Data Used to Track You | no ad networks, tracking SDKs or pixels |
The last BitePal row is the developer’s own declaration on the US listing. I only report it.
Is Calsa the right BitePal app alternative for me?
Calsa is the plain-diary option here, with no pet and no food score. For the wider market I counted 15 calorie trackers sold in the US, UK, Canada and Australia, checked against their websites, help centers and App Store pages. No paid screens were opened, and the table only counts.
| In the category (of 15 apps, checked 8 Oct 2026) | Calsa | |
|---|---|---|
| Source of each number | 0 of 15 show the database source of every number; 9 show a check badge or a “checked by nutritionists” claim without it | every number shows its source and database release; an unconfirmed amount is marked “estimate” |
| Breaks | 0 of 15 are confirmed free of streaks; 8 of 15 use streaks or badges | no streaks or badges; a break costs nothing |
| AI chat | 0 of 15 combine a chat without a persona, numbers from a database and memory you can delete fact by fact; all 6 chats in the set use a coach title or a persona | labelled AI with no persona; numbers from the database; memory you can see and delete one fact at a time |
| Price | 0 of 15 show the price before the first question; 7 of 15 use timers, discount wheels or a second offer | price, trial and how to cancel before any question; no timers |
| Calorie floor | 0 of 15 keep a floor that cannot be switched off | a goal below the floor is not saved, and the reason is shown |
| No numbers | 0 of 15 can hide every number | hide calories, nutrients and weight at any time |
| Tracking | 2 of 15 declare no tracking; 13 of 15 declare tracking | no tracking; health data is used only to run the service |
| Crisis help | 0 of 15 publish a crisis protocol | help lines come first; the protocol is published |
| Where Calsa is weaker | no free tier; no manual workout logging; no Apple Watch app or widget; no meal plans or fasting; a smaller food database | |
| Choose something else if | you want a free tier, a character that reacts to your meals, a watch app, manual workout logging, a fasting timer or a weekly meal plan |
Read those two rows first. The raccoon is a real reason to stay put, and a plain diary doesn’t replace it. A source behind every number is the reason to try one for a week.
On day one, note when your BitePal plan renews and what period its payment sheet prints. For the next six days, log every meal in both apps with the grams you weighed and compare the calories entry by entry. Cancel in the store before that date once the test has told you what you wanted to know.
Questions and answers
Does deleting the BitePal app cancel my subscription?
No. BitePal's billing page says deleting the app does not cancel the subscription. On an iPhone, open Settings, tap your name, choose Subscriptions, pick BitePal and tap Cancel Subscription. Android and web paths are on its cancellation page.
How long do I have to ask for a BitePal refund?
It depends on where you paid. BitePal's help page gives 48 hours through Apple or Google, 30 days from the first payment for web purchases, and 48 hours after a renewal charge. Check the date of your charge first.
Can I export my BitePal data?
I found no export feature on BitePal's help pages, and they say nothing about account deletion. Email its support before you delete the account, and write down your usual meals with grams in the meantime.
How much does BitePal cost?
It depends on the plan and the country. The US App Store list showed "Weekly Subscription" at $3.99, $4.99 and $5.99, and "Annual Subscription" at $19.99, $35.99 and $59.99. The list doesn't say which price you will be offered.
Sources
- BitePal: Food Calorie Tracker, App Store listing, US storefront, Apple App Store
- BitePal: AI Calorie Tracker App, App Store listing, UK storefront, Apple App Store
- BitePal Help: Billing, Subscriptions & Refunds, BitePal
- BitePal Help: How can I cancel my subscription?, BitePal
- BitePal Help, BitePal
- BitePal Help: Account and access, BitePal



