BitePal vs Calsa: Pet Game or a Source on Every Number
The US App Store lists weekly rows at $3.99, $4.99 and $5.99 and annual rows from $19.99 to $59.99. A year of the cheapest weekly row is $207.48, and I found no trial length or data export.
Key takeaways
- The US App Store lists weekly rows at $3.99, $4.99 and $5.99, annual rows from $19.99 to $59.99 and a monthly row at $9.99.
- At $3.99 a week, 52 weeks cost $207.48, more than three times the top annual row of $59.99.
- I found no trial length on any page the developer owns, and no word on what the free version includes.
- Refunds must be requested within 48 hours on iOS and Android and within 30 days on the web, and deleting the app doesn't cancel the subscription.
- The help pages I opened mention no data export, and they give a support email for account questions.
In this BitePal vs Calsa comparison, pick BitePal if you want a raccoon that reacts to your meals, a nutrition score on each scan and weekly meal plans. Pick Calsa if you’d rather keep a plain diary with a source behind every number, no scores and no mascot. BitePal’s US App Store page lists weekly subscriptions at $3.99, $4.99 and $5.99.
BitePal vs Calsa: how do they compare side by side?
I read BitePal’s four App Store pages, its Google Play page and its website and help pages, and I opened no paid screens. Calsa publishes this blog, so read the right-hand column as an interested party’s and check the left one against BitePal’s own pages. A cell that says “not stated” marks a gap in those pages, which I haven’t filled with guesses.
| BitePal | Calsa | |
|---|---|---|
| Maker and platforms | Reface Lithuania UAB; iPhone (iOS 18.0 or later, per the US page), Android, and a web purchase route in Settings | Web, iPhone, iPad and Android, with one account on all of them |
| Ways to log food | Photo scan is stated; text search, barcode and voice are not stated on the pages I read | Type or say it, photo, barcode, nutrition-label photo, quick-add calories, search |
| Score and character | A nutrition score on each scan, plus an AI raccoon in outfits that reacts to what you eat | No food scores and no mascot; notes in plain words such as “in range” |
| Meal plans | Weekly plans with recipes and portions; a Custom Meal Plan sold as an add-on | No weekly plans; the chat can suggest a recipe for what’s left of your day |
| Water | Water intake tracking | Water by the glass, plus the fluid in everything you log |
| Free version | Free to download with in-app purchases; what works without paying isn’t described | A trial, then a paid plan |
| Purchases | Weekly, annual, yearly and monthly rows, add-ons and Bitecoins packs | Monthly or yearly only; no coins or credits |
| Cancelling | Three routes, by store; deleting the app doesn’t cancel | Cancel the same way you subscribed |
| Data export | None mentioned on the help pages I opened | Export everything, on any plan |
What does a day look like with the raccoon, and without one?
Start with what BitePal’s pages describe. You photograph breakfast, and the US listing says the app reads the food from the photo and returns a nutrition score, highlights and guidance. The website adds tips after every meal and personal statistics. A dashboard tracks calories, nutrients and weight progress, with water intake and fasting windows beside it. Weekly meal plans come with recipes and portions, and a breakdown shows your strongest days, food preferences and habits.
Then there’s the character. The same listing describes a raccoon you dress in outfits and accessories, and it reacts to your food choices. Google Play repeats the picture and adds a fasting timer and tracking for protein, fat and carbohydrate.
Several parts of a logging day stay blank. I found no statement about typing or searching for a food, scanning a barcode, speaking an entry, syncing with Apple Health or Health Connect, or how many foods the database holds. The site’s terms and privacy pages render empty without JavaScript, and the tool I used to read them failed, so those pages are unread.
One more oddity: titles differ by storefront. The US page says “BitePal: Food Calorie Tracker”, the UK one “BitePal: AI Calorie Tracker App” and Canada and Australia “BitePal: AI Calorie Counter App”. Check the developer name, Reface Lithuania UAB, when you search.
Calsa’s day has no character in it, and it has more ways in. You answer a short quiz to get a calorie goal, or track without one, and a goal below the safe floor isn’t saved. Breakfast goes in by typing or speaking with grams, several foods in a line, or by photo: Calsa names the foods, suggests grams and waits for you to confirm the portion. A barcode scan covers a packaged snack, with UK and Australian products in the database, and a label photo steps in when the code finds nothing.
Eating out, you can pick a chain’s dish and get the numbers the chain publishes. Cooking, you build a recipe from ingredients or a photo, in raw or cooked weight. Slips are cheap to fix: change the grams, or select several entries and move, repeat or delete them together, with undo. The evening view shows what’s left by meal, and weight, steps and active energy come in from Apple Health or Health Connect. Your last 7 days open offline.
How much does BitePal cost, and what is free?
BitePal’s listing sells weekly, annual, monthly and “yearly” rows, and several prices share the same name. The page doesn’t say which one you’ll see. Apple shows ten purchases per storefront, and I list each name and price once. A few rows come from a store-price tracker snapshot, not from the store page itself.
| Purchase name | US (USD) | UK (GBP) | Canada (CAD) | Australia (AUD) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Weekly Subscription | $3.99, $4.99, $5.99 | £3.99, £4.99 | $4.99, $6.99 | $5.99, $7.99 |
| Annual Subscription | $19.99, $35.99, $59.99 | £19.99, £34.99, £59.99 | $24.99, $49.99, $79.99 | $29.99, $59.99, $99.99 |
| BitePal Yearly 23.99 | $23.99 | £22.99 | $29.99 | $39.99 |
| Pookies Pro Monthly | $9.99 | £9.99 | $12.99 | $14.99 |
| BitePal 400 Bitecoins Pack | $0.99 | £0.99 | $0.99 | $1.99 |
Weekly rows are the ones to compute. At the US $3.99, 52 weeks come to 52 × $3.99 = $207.48, and at $5.99 they come to $311.48. The top “Annual Subscription” price on the same list is $59.99, so even the cheapest weekly route costs more than three times that. In Australia, the $7.99 weekly row adds up to $415.48 over a year.
Other names are puzzling in their own way. The name “BitePal Yearly 23.99” carries $39.99 in Australia, so the number in the name isn’t the price there. The monthly row is called “Pookies Pro Monthly”, and nothing I read explains the name. A US year of it is 12 × $9.99 = $119.88.
The billing page lists add-ons that are billed apart from the main subscription, such as a Custom Meal Plan and a Vitamin Guide. The Bitecoins packs are sold as in-app purchases, and none of the pages I opened says what Bitecoins buy. The account page says your PRO access activates automatically once you log in with the same account, but it doesn’t list what PRO includes. I found no trial length on any BitePal-owned page.
Side by side, the free-and-paid picture looks like this:
| BitePal | Calsa | |
|---|---|---|
| Free to start | Free to download with in-app purchases; contents of the free version not described | A trial, then a paid plan |
| What is paid-only | I found no list; the account page names PRO without itemizing it | Every plan has all of the tracking; the three plans differ in AI chat |
| Extra purchases | Add-ons, and Bitecoins packs of unstated use | Extra chat messages in a plain pack priced in money, which never expires |
| Periods | Weekly, monthly, annual and yearly | Monthly or yearly, and the first period costs the same as the next |
| Pressure at checkout | Not stated | No discount wheels, countdown timers or one-time offers |
Calsa puts the price, trial length, first charge date and cancel route on screen before anything else, with a reminder ahead of the trial’s end. I’m leaving its prices out of this page because the app carries the current ones.
How does cancelling work, and what happens to your data?
Cancel in the store you paid through. The cancellation page gives three routes. On iOS it’s Settings, your name, Subscriptions, BitePal, Cancel Subscription. On Android it’s Google Play, your profile icon, Payments & Subscriptions, Subscriptions, BitePal, Cancel Subscription. For a purchase made on the web, you open BitePal’s Settings, then Manage Subscription, then Cancel Subscription. Deleting the app cancels nothing.
Refund windows are short. The help page puts them at 48 hours on iOS and Android and 30 days from the first payment on the web, and a renewal charge carries its own 48 hours. I’d calendar the renewal date on day one.
Data is the open question. The help, billing, account and contact pages I opened mention no export, and they give a support email for account questions. Ask support what you can get before you do anything final, and meanwhile write down your usual meals by hand.
Calsa’s side is written down. Cancel the way you subscribed, with refund windows spelled out before you pay and a reminder before renewal. When a subscription ends you can still read, export and delete everything, and an account can be deleted from the app or the web with the timelines stated. The export is open on every plan.
Where is Calsa stronger than BitePal, and who should keep BitePal?
Calsa is stronger on the question “where did that number come from?” Each entry shows its source and the arithmetic, and amounts you haven’t confirmed carry the word “estimate”. Past days don’t change behind your back. With BitePal I found no source stated for a scan’s result, and a photo scan is exactly where I’d want one, so what the photo studies found is worth ten minutes before you rely on any scanner.
It’s also stronger on quiet. There are no food scores, no good or bad labels and no mascot. Notes come in plain words, there are no streaks or badges, and you can hide calories, nutrients and weight when you need a few days off the numbers.
Where Calsa is weaker: it’s a paid app after a trial. It has no character that reacts to your meals, no per-scan nutrition score, no weekly meal plans, no manual workout entry and no watch app yet.
Choose something else if you want a character that reacts to your food, a nutrition score on each photo, fasting windows or weekly meal plans.
Some readers will land clearly on one side.
The pet person. The raccoon is a real reason to stay put, and a plain diary replaces nothing about it.
The planner. BitePal builds weekly plans with recipes and portions, while Calsa offers a recipe for what’s left of your day and stops there.
The skeptic of scores. BitePal puts a nutrition score on each scan. Calsa has no food scores by design, so a week in it shows whether you miss one.
The one who wants proof. If you weigh your food and expect the app to show its work, Calsa shows the per-100-gram value × grams on the entry.
How do you switch from BitePal to Calsa?
Check your renewal date first, then run the test before you cancel, as long as the date leaves you a full week. If the renewal is close, cancel now in the store you paid through, because the window after a charge is only 48 hours on iOS and Android.
With no export to lean on, rebuild by habit:
- Write down the ten meals you eat most, with the grams you actually use.
- Log each one once in Calsa.
- Use “Copy to today” to repeat a meal, a whole day or only the foods you pick.
- Let search put the foods you usually eat at that meal first.
If support sends you a file, Calsa takes history in a CSV file and shows a preview before anything is saved.
Log every meal in both apps for a week with the grams you weighed, then compare entry by entry. My checklist for choosing a calorie counter app lists the checks, the choosing a calorie app section has more pairings, and the earlier BitePal app alternative article looks at the same switch from the billing side.
Questions and answers
Is BitePal free?
It's free to download, with in-app purchases. The pages I read don't say what works without paying, and the account page says only that PRO access activates after a purchase, without listing what PRO includes.
How much does BitePal cost?
The US App Store listed weekly rows at $3.99, $4.99 and $5.99, annual rows at $19.99, $35.99 and $59.99, a row named BitePal Yearly 23.99 at $23.99 and a monthly row at $9.99. The listing doesn't say which price you'll be shown.
Does BitePal have a free trial?
I found no trial length on any page the developer owns, including the App Store pages, the website and the help center. The help page does list refund windows: 48 hours on iOS and Android, 30 days on the web and 48 hours after a renewal.
How do I cancel BitePal?
Cancel in the store you paid through. On iOS use Settings, your name, Subscriptions, then BitePal. On Android use Google Play, Payments & Subscriptions, then Subscriptions. For a web purchase use Settings, then Manage Subscription. Deleting the app doesn't cancel.
Can I export my BitePal data?
I found no export mentioned on the help, billing, account or contact pages. They give a support email for account questions, so ask what you can get before you delete anything.
Sources
- BitePal: Food Calorie Tracker, US App Store listing, Apple App Store
- BitePal: AI Calorie Tracker App, UK App Store listing, Apple App Store
- BitePal: AI Calorie Counter App, Canada App Store listing, Apple App Store
- BitePal: AI Calorie Counter App, Australia App Store listing, Apple App Store
- BitePal on Google Play, Google Play
- BitePal website, Reface Lithuania UAB
- BitePal help, BitePal Help
- BitePal help: billing, BitePal Help
- BitePal help: account, BitePal Help
- BitePal help: how can I cancel my subscription, BitePal Help



