Calo vs Calsa: Meal Plans or Checkable Numbers
Ten purchase rows share one name on the US App Store page and run from $3.99 to $39.99, with no billing period or trial length shown. I found no export feature, only a privacy-policy right to a digital copy.
Key takeaways
- The store text lists personalized meal plans, weight-loss recipes and macro programs such as keto, vegan and paleo.
- Every purchase row on the US App Store page carries one name, so the billing period isn't shown.
- US rows run from $3.99 to $39.99, UK rows from £3.99 to £49.99, Canada from $4.99 to $79.99 and Australia from $5.99 to $99.99.
- No trial length is stated, and I found no export feature, only a privacy-policy right to a digital copy.
- Cancelling means turning off auto-renewal in account settings at least 24 hours before the period ends.
In this Calo vs Calsa comparison, pick Calo if you want the app to plan your eating: its store text lists meal plans, weight-loss recipes and macro programs from keto to paleo. Pick Calsa if you want each number to show its source, the price on screen before any question and a diary you can export. Calo’s US App Store rows run from $3.99 to $39.99.
Calo vs Calsa: how do they compare side by side?
I read Calo’s four App Store pages, its website, its Google Play page and its privacy policy, and I opened no paid screens. Calsa publishes this blog, so treat the right-hand column as an interested party’s and check the left one against Calo’s own pages. Where a page said nothing, the cell says so, and I left the gap open.
| Calo | Calsa | |
|---|---|---|
| Maker and platforms | Next Vision Limited; iPhone and Android, per its website | Web, iPhone, iPad and Android, with one account on all of them |
| Ways to log food | Photo (AI), typing, barcode scan | Type or say it, photo, barcode, nutrition-label photo, quick-add calories, search |
| Photo portions | The store text names photo logging and says nothing on portion size | Names the foods, suggests grams, and you confirm the portion; oil and dressing get their own line |
| Source of a number | Not stated on the pages I read | Each entry shows where its calories come from and the math; unconfirmed amounts are marked “estimate” |
| Goals | Mifflin-St Jeor equation; macro programs from balanced to paleo | A short quiz; a goal below the safe calorie floor isn’t saved |
| Meal plans and recipes | Personalized meal plans, weight-loss recipes, recipe recommendations | No weekly plans; the chat can suggest a recipe for what’s left of your day |
| Fitness sync | Optional Apple Health and Fitbit sync of workouts, calories burned and body weight | Apple Health and Health Connect; no direct Fitbit link |
| Free version | Free to download with in-app purchases, per Google Play; contents not described | A trial, then a paid plan |
| Price and trial | Rows all named “Calo Premium”; no trial length stated | Price, trial length, first charge date and how to cancel come before anything else |
| Cancelling | Turn off auto-renewal in account settings; no help article found | Cancel the same way you subscribed |
| Data export | None found; the privacy policy lists a right to a digital copy | Export everything, on any plan |
What does a normal day of logging look like in each app?
A feature list doesn’t tell you how a Tuesday goes, so I walked through one for each app. For Calo I stayed with what its pages state, because I opened no paid screens and won’t describe screens I haven’t seen.
A day in Calo, as far as its pages go
- Set a goal. The store text names the Mifflin-St Jeor equation for your calorie target and offers macro programs: balanced, low-carb, low-fat, keto, vegan, vegetarian and paleo.
- Log breakfast by photo or by typing. Both are listed as AI food logging.
- Scan a packaged snack with the barcode scanner.
- Pick dinner from the personalized meal plans, weight-loss recipes or recipe recommendations the listing promises.
- Connect your workouts. The website describes an optional sync with Apple Health and Fitbit for workouts, calories burned and body weight.
Four things stay blank, because the pages leave them out. I can’t say how a photo scan sets the portion, whether you can edit the amount afterward, whether voice logging exists or how large the food database is. The store text also carries a disclaimer that the app is for information only and tells you to see a doctor before starting a diet plan.
Check the developer before you download. Two other apps have close names, Calo AI & Food Calorie Counter by WELLY TECH and Calorie Tracker Counter - Calo by Ambia Design, and neither is the one I’m describing. The Calo here is made by Next Vision Limited.
A day in Calsa
- Answer a short quiz for a calorie goal, or track without one. A goal below the safe floor isn’t saved, and Calsa tells you why.
- For breakfast, type or say what you ate with grams, with several foods in one line. Or snap a photo: Calsa names the foods and suggests grams, and you confirm the portion.
- Scan the snack. UK and Australian products are included, and a photo of the nutrition label covers a code with no match.
- At a chain restaurant, pick the dish and get the numbers the chain publishes. On the Calsa and Calsa Premium plans you can also name a dish or send a photo of a menu and ask what to order.
- At home, search with grams, pick several foods at once and see the ones you usually eat at that meal first. A recipe can be built from ingredients or from a photo, using raw or cooked weight.
- Fix a slip in place. Change the grams, or select several entries to move, repeat or delete together, and undo it if you misjudged.
- In the evening, your day split by meal shows what’s left. Water counts by the glass, and weight, steps and active energy arrive from Apple Health or Health Connect.
A half-finished entry survives a closed app, and your last 7 days open without a connection. That second point is easy to overlook until you’re on a train with no signal.
Where do the numbers come from, and what do you do with a label?
The Calo pages I read don’t say which database sits behind a number. A gap like that takes ten minutes to test. Pick five packaged foods from your cupboard, scan each one and compare the result with the label on the pack. When a scan misses, write down what the app offers next.
Photo logging splits the same way. The store text names it and says nothing about portion size, which is where photo scans slip. I’d read what the photo studies found before trusting any of them with a plate you can’t weigh.
Calsa puts the arithmetic on the entry. It shows where the calories come from and the sum, the per-100-gram value × grams, and anything you haven’t confirmed carries the word “estimate”. Log the same entry twice and you get the same number. A past day doesn’t change without telling you.
When a barcode has no match, Calsa reads the label from a photo. I’d still glance at the pack. Labels and databases disagree for dull reasons such as a changed recipe or a different serving size, and why calorie trackers disagree walks through them. If a shared food looks wrong, you can report it, and the entry changes after review.
What does Calo cost, and what does Calsa show first?
Every purchase on Calo’s listing carries the same name, “Calo Premium”. The name gives no billing period, and Apple doesn’t label the rows weekly, monthly or yearly, so the price is your only clue. Apple’s page lists ten purchases per storefront. This is what the four storefronts showed.
| Storefront | Distinct prices | Most repeated | Top row ÷ bottom row |
|---|---|---|---|
| United States (USD) | $3.99, $9.99, $19.99, $23.99, $29.99, $39.99 | $39.99, on four rows | about 10 |
| United Kingdom (GBP) | £3.99, £9.99, £19.99, £29.99, £39.99, £49.99 | £39.99, on four rows | about 13 |
| Canada (CAD) | $4.99, $12.99, $24.99, $39.99, $49.99, $59.99, $79.99 | $49.99, on three rows | about 16 |
| Australia (AUD) | $5.99, $14.99, $29.99, $49.99, $59.99, $79.99, $99.99 | $59.99, on three rows | about 17 |
Nothing I read maps those rows to plans. The website has no pricing page, and its terms and privacy policy sit on a separate domain. The $39.99 row costs ten times the $3.99 row, and the page won’t tell you what the difference buys.
The store text brings up a free trial exactly once. It says an unused part of a trial is lost when you buy a subscription, if one is offered at all. It gives no length, and I found none on the website. Read the period and the total on the payment sheet before you confirm.
Here is the free-and-paid picture side by side.
| Calo | Calsa | |
|---|---|---|
| Free to start | Free to download with in-app purchases; what works without paying isn’t described | A trial, then a paid plan |
| What is paid-only | I found no list | Every plan has all of the tracking; the three plans differ in AI chat |
| Plans | One name, “Calo Premium”, on every row | Calsa Start, Calsa and Calsa Premium |
| Pressure at checkout | Not stated | No discount wheels, countdown timers or one-time offers; the first period costs the same as the next |
Calsa goes the other way on display. The price, trial length, first charge date and cancel route appear before anything else, and a reminder comes before the trial ends. You can always see how many chat messages are left, and a top-up pack never expires. The current prices live in the app, so I’m not repeating them here.
Where is Calsa stronger than Calo, and who should pick Calo?
Calsa’s strongest side is leaving. When a subscription ends you can still read, export and delete everything, and the export is open on every plan. Come back later and your history is still there.
The AI chat is the second. Ask it about today and it answers from your diary, goal and weight trend, quoting numbers from the food database. Memory is yours to see, edit or delete, and you can switch it off. It’s labelled as AI and never messages you first.
Breaks cost nothing, too. There are no streaks or badges, and reminders stay silent if you’ve already logged. You can hide calories, nutrients and weight and bring them back.
Where Calsa is weaker: it’s a paid app after a trial. It has no weekly meal plans, no direct Fitbit link, no manual workout entry and no watch app yet.
Choose something else if you want Calo’s meal plans and recipes, a keto-style program, a direct Fitbit sync or a typed-in workout.
Four readers come to mind.
The person who wants dinner decided. Calo’s store text promises plans and recipes. Calsa will suggest a recipe for what’s left of your day, then leave the week to you.
The Fitbit wearer. Calo describes the sync on its website. Calsa gets your watch data only if it passes through Apple Health or Health Connect first.
The weigher. If you put oatmeal on a scale and want to see where each number came from, Calsa is built for you, and Calo’s pages give me nothing to compare.
The one who is tired of renewals. An export, a one-tap cancel and a diary you can still read after you leave are Calsa’s case. Calo’s cancel route sits in your account settings, with no help article behind it.
How do you move from Calo to Calsa, and what happens to your data?
Pick your cancel date first. The store text says auto-renewal is turned off in your account settings, and at least 24 hours before the period ends or it renews. I found no help article with cancel steps, so set a calendar reminder for the day before and leave yourself the full test week below.
Then ask for your data. I found no export feature. Calo’s privacy policy lists rights to access, correction, deletion and portability, and portability covers a copy of your personal information in a digital format. What that copy looks like, I can’t say. If a file does arrive, Calsa takes history in a CSV file and shows a preview before anything is saved.
Without a file, rebuild from habit:
- Write down the ten meals you eat most, with grams.
- Log each once in Calsa.
- Use “Copy to today” to repeat a meal or a whole day, or only the foods you pick.
- Let search put the foods you usually eat at that meal first, so the second week goes faster.
Run both apps for a full week and compare entries line by line. My checklist for choosing a calorie counter app lists the other checks, the choosing a calorie app section has more pairings, and the earlier Calo app alternative article adds a weigh-your-plate test.
Questions and answers
Is Calo free?
It's free to download, with in-app purchases. No page I read says what the version without a purchase includes, so check the first screens before you rely on it.
How much does Calo Premium cost?
Every purchase row is named Calo Premium. The US App Store showed prices from $3.99 to $39.99, the UK £3.99 to £49.99, Canada $4.99 to $79.99 and Australia $5.99 to $99.99. No page I read maps a row to a billing period.
Does Calo have a free trial?
The store text mentions a trial only to say that an unused part of one is lost when you buy a subscription. It gives no length, and I found no trial length on the website either.
How do I cancel Calo?
Turn off auto-renewal in your account settings. The store text says the subscription renews unless you do so at least 24 hours before the period ends. I found no help article with cancel steps.
Can I export my Calo data?
I found no export feature. The privacy policy lists rights to access, correction, deletion and portability, so a request for a digital copy of your personal information is the route to try.
Sources
- Calo: AI Food Calorie Counter, US App Store listing, Apple App Store
- Calo: AI Food Calorie Counter, UK App Store listing, Apple App Store
- Calo: AI Food Calorie Counter, Canada App Store listing, Apple App Store
- Calo: AI Food Calorie Counter, Australia App Store listing, Apple App Store
- Calo app page, Next Vision Limited
- Calo on Google Play, Google Play
- Calo privacy policy, Next Vision Limited



