Healthify vs Calsa: Coaching App or Food Diary
One app sells an AI coach and one-on-one coaching on top of its food log. The other sells tracking only. Store prices in four countries, logging, data requests and cancellation.
Key takeaways
- The US App Store lists the AI-only purchase at $29.99 and the AI plus coach purchase at $89.99, and most rows show no period.
- The UK, Canadian and Australian lists are full of Smart Plan rows, from £9.49 to £79.99 in the UK.
- I found no trial length on any page, and the pages do not say what the version at no cost includes.
- The terms describe data access and deletion by emailing support, and I found no self-service export.
- Barcode scanning is not stated on the pages I read, while photo, voice and gallery-based logging are.
Healthify vs Calsa is a choice between an app that sells coaching and a food diary that sells only tracking. Healthify offers an AI coach called Ria and a one-on-one coaching purchase, and its US App Store listing sells it as “Healthify AI + Coach” at $89.99. Calsa has no human coach, and its feature list shows no version at no cost. I read Healthify’s listings, site and terms.
What does Healthify cost, and is there a free version?
The store pages attach a period to few of Healthify’s purchases. The US list is short. These are the nine rows the US storefront listed.
| Purchase on the US App Store | Price | Period shown |
|---|---|---|
| Healthify AI | $29.99 | None |
| Healthify AI + Coach | $89.99 | None |
| Healthify+ | $39.99 | None |
| Smart Plan: DIY Health Plan | $9.99 and $59.99 | None |
| Yearly Subscription | $24.99, $39.99 and $49.99 | Yearly |
| Monthly Subscription | $14.99 | Monthly |
Coaching adds $60.00 to the AI-only price ($89.99 minus $29.99). The monthly row adds up to $179.88 over twelve months, against $24.99 to $49.99 for the three yearly rows. Nothing I read explains why one name carries three yearly prices. Elsewhere the lists look different, as this table of the other three storefronts shows.
| Storefront | Rows listed | Names on the list | Lowest to highest |
|---|---|---|---|
| United States | 9 | Six different names | $9.99 to $89.99 |
| United Kingdom | 10 | “Smart Plan: DIY Health Plan” only | £9.49 to £79.99 |
| Canada | 10 | “Healthify AI” at $39.99, then Smart Plan rows | $12.49 to $99.99 |
| Australia | 10 | “Smart Plan: DIY Health Plan” only | $15.49 to $97.99 |
Apple shows ten rows per page and collapses rows with the same name and price, so the UK, Canadian and Australian lists are probably cut off. A British reader sees only Smart Plan rows on the page I read, and the plan names you see at checkout may differ. The US Google Play page gives a range of its own, $0.99 to $149.99 per in-app item.
The website doesn’t help. Its pricing page says to check the plans in the app and shows no table. The US home page puts “for $25/mo” next to the word “FREE” without explaining either, so I didn’t use it as a price. I found no trial length on any Healthify page, including the terms of use.
As for a version at no cost, the US listing shows the app as free to download with in-app purchases and doesn’t say what the free part includes. I found no help-center article that does either. The practical answer is to install it and see what is locked. Calsa sells monthly or yearly plans only, shows its price, trial length, first charge date and cancel path before any question, and sends a reminder before the trial ends.
Healthify vs Calsa: how do they compare side by side?
Calsa publishes this blog, so check my table against Healthify’s own pages. The Healthify column comes from its store listings, terms of use and site. Calsa’s column holds built features only.
| Healthify | Calsa | |
|---|---|---|
| Version at no cost | Free to download. Contents not listed on the pages I read | None listed |
| Trial | Length not found | Length shown before any question |
| Coaching | AI coach Ria, plus one-on-one coaching with nutritionists or dieticians as a premium purchase | AI chat, labelled as AI and never posing as a professional. No human dietitian or coach |
| Ways to log food | Photo (Snap), Auto Snap from gallery photos, voice, manual, AI food search. Barcode not stated | Type or say it with grams, photo, barcode, nutrition-label photo, quick add of just the calories |
| Source of the numbers | Not stated. Database described as “INFINITE” on the App Store and 100,000+ foods on Google Play | Source and math on every entry, “per 100 g × grams”. Unconfirmed amounts marked “estimate” |
| Meal plans | Ria writes meal plans, recipes and grocery lists | No weekly meal plans or shopping lists. Ideas come from your own diary |
| Community | A community and daily challenges, per Google Play | None, no public profiles and no messages between users |
| Connections | Apple Health. Google Play lists Samsung Health, Google Fit, Health Connect, Garmin, Fitbit, smart scale | Apple Health and Health Connect. No direct Garmin or Fitbit link |
| Data export | No self-service export described. Requests go to support | Everything, on any plan |
| Platforms | iPhone (iOS 16.0 or later) and Android | Web, iPhone, iPad and Android. No watch app |
What does a normal day of logging look like in each app?
A day in Healthify
Photos lead. The US listing describes calorie tracking by photo, which the app calls Snap, and by voice, next to manual meal logging and an AI food search. A feature named Auto Snap logs meals from food photos already sitting in your phone’s gallery. Barcode scanning isn’t stated on any page I opened, so test it on a packaged food before you pay.
Ria sits beside the log. The Healthify site describes her as an AI coach in a chat who creates meal plans, recipes and grocery lists, and it lists a Ria voice call as “Coming Soon”. The listing adds that the app tracks water, sleep, weight, workouts and activity. On Android, the Google Play text mentions daily challenges and a community too.
Human coaching is the premium end. The listing describes one-on-one coaching with nutritionists or dieticians as a premium service, and the US store sells “Healthify AI + Coach” for $89.99. I never saw what a coach conversation looks like, since that sits behind the purchase.
A day in Calsa
In Calsa a meal is one line with weights in it, like “oatmeal 250 g, banana”. Type it or say it. It lands in the meal that fits the clock. Your totals sit on the day view, split by meal, along with what remains.
Photo logging comes with every plan. Calsa suggests the foods and their grams from the picture, you set the portion, and oil or dressing becomes a separate line. For packaged food you scan the barcode, with UK and Australian products covered. When a barcode isn’t found, a photo of the nutrition label does the job.
Edits are quick. Change the grams, or select several entries to move, repeat or delete them together, and undo if you slip. A half-finished entry survives a closed app, and logging works offline with your last 7 days open. Weight, steps and active energy come in from Apple Health or Health Connect, while food and water go back out.
Goals and water get attention too. A short quiz sets your calorie goal, or you can track without one, and Calsa won’t save a goal under the safe calorie floor. Different weekdays can have different goals. Water counts by the glass, and the fluid in everything you log is added on top. Healthify lists water, sleep, weight, workouts and activity as things it tracks. Calsa has no manual workout entry and no sleep tracking in its feature list, so that part is narrower.
Where do the numbers come from?
The pages disagree with each other, and neither names a source. The App Store text calls the food database “INFINITE” and “the world’s largest”, while the Google Play description says over 100,000 foods. Both are the company’s own claims. A count doesn’t tell you where one entry’s calories came from, which is what I’d want when a banana looks too low.
Calsa shows the source and the math on every entry, “per 100 g × grams” (the help page has an example), and marks amounts you haven’t confirmed as “estimate”. Past days never change without telling you. If a shared entry is wrong, you can report it and it is corrected after review. Chain restaurant dishes carry the numbers the chain itself publishes.
Where is Calsa stronger than Healthify?
Billing is the first place. Healthify’s site sends you to the app for prices, the stores show most rows without periods, and I found no trial length anywhere. Calsa puts the price, trial length, first charge date and cancel path in front of you before anything else. Your price doesn’t change while your subscription is active, refund windows are spelled out before you pay, and you cancel the way you subscribed with no screen arguing you out of it.
Data is the second. Section 16 of Healthify’s terms says you may request access, correction and deletion of your data by contacting [email protected]. It adds that deleting some data may cancel your registration, and no self-service export is described. Calsa lets you download all your data whatever plan you’re on, and delete your account from the app or the web with the timelines spelled out. After a subscription ends you can still read, export and delete everything.
Next comes the chat. Ria is a named character who writes plans. Calsa’s chat is labelled as AI, never poses as a professional and never messages you first. Answers draw on your diary, your goal and your weight trend, with numbers taken from the food database. Memory can be inspected, edited, deleted or switched off, and a single switch turns AI off while logging carries on. The chat gives no diagnoses or treatment advice. Ria writes plans for you, while Calsa’s ideas come from what you’ve already logged.
Last is pressure. The Google Play text mentions daily challenges. Calsa has no streaks, badges or confetti, so a missed week costs nothing and reminders go quiet. You can hide the numbers.
Where is Calsa weaker, and who should choose Healthify?
A person on the other end is what Healthify offers and Calsa doesn’t.
Where Calsa is weaker: Calsa has no human dietitian or coach. Its feature list shows no version at no cost. It has no weekly meal plans or shopping lists, no manual workout entry, no watch app and no direct Garmin or Fitbit link. Its feature list has nothing like Auto Snap, and it has no community.
Choose something else if you want a human coach or dietitian, an AI that writes weekly meal plans and grocery lists, challenges and a community, a Garmin or Fitbit connection, or a download that costs nothing to try.
Three readers come to mind. Someone who keeps going because a person reads their week should look at Healthify’s coaching, with the $89.99 purchase as the price to compare. A runner whose Garmin already holds weight and steps may prefer the app that lists a direct connection. And a reader who weighs food, wants a source behind every number and wants a file of the whole diary suits Calsa better.
My Healthify app alternative article looks at coaching versus self-tracking. For the other checks I’d run on any tracker, see how to choose a calorie counter app, and more head-to-head pieces sit under choosing a calorie app.
How do you switch from Healthify to Calsa?
Keep Healthify until you’ve logged a week in both. The terms say you must cancel the subscription directly through the Google Play Store or Apple’s iTunes settings. It renews automatically unless you cancel at least 24 hours before the end of the period. The refund clause, which names the AI Plan (Smart plan and H+), says to request a refund within 24 hours of the start to maximize eligibility, subject to the store’s policies.
Your history needs more thought. I found no self-service export, so write to [email protected] and ask for your data under the access clause of the terms. Whatever comes back, Calsa’s import takes a CSV file and shows a preview before anything is saved, so you can tell whether it fits before you commit.
Deleting the account can come last. Healthify warns that deletion of some data may cancel the registration, so get your copy first. Then open Calsa and log a normal week with grams in every entry.
Questions and answers
Is Healthify free?
The app is free to download with in-app purchases. The pages I read do not list what the version at no cost includes, and I found no help-center article that does, so install it and see what is locked.
How much does Healthify cost?
The US App Store listed Healthify AI at $29.99, Healthify+ at $39.99, and Healthify AI + Coach at $89.99, with no periods on those rows. It also listed a Monthly Subscription at $14.99 and Yearly Subscriptions from $24.99 to $49.99.
Does Healthify have a barcode scanner?
None of the pages I opened states one. They describe photo logging, voice logging, manual entry and an AI food search, so check the app on a packaged food before you pay.
How do I cancel Healthify?
The terms say to cancel through Google Play or Apple settings. Subscriptions renew automatically unless you cancel at least 24 hours before the end of the period.
Can I export my data from Healthify?
I found no self-service export. The terms say you can request access, correction and deletion of your data by contacting support, and that deleting some data may cancel your registration.
Sources
- Healthify: AI Calorie Tracker, US App Store listing, Apple App Store
- Healthify: AI Calorie Tracker, UK App Store listing, Apple App Store
- Healthify: AI Calorie Tracker, Canada App Store listing, Apple App Store
- Healthify: AI Calorie Tracker, Australia App Store listing, Apple App Store
- Healthify: AI Diet & Fitness, Google Play listing, Google Play
- Healthify pricing page, Healthify
- Healthify, US home page, Healthify
- Healthify terms of use, Healthify



