Choosing a calorie app

Numify vs Calsa: Weekly AI Logger or a Sourced Food Log

The US store page lists one week at $5.99, three months at $29.99 and one year at $69.99. The terms tie multi-day logging, macros and the scanner to the subscription.

Key takeaways

  • The US store page lists $5.99 for one week, $29.99 for three months and $69.99 for one year.
  • A weekly row renewed for a year costs 52 × $5.99 = $311.48, which is 4.5 times the yearly price.
  • The terms tie multi-day logging, macro tracking and the barcode scanner to the subscription, and the free limits are not stated.
  • Cancel in your device settings or in the app, because support cannot cancel on your behalf.
  • I found no self-service export, only a privacy request by email for access or portability.

Numify vs Calsa is a choice between an AI-first logger with meal plans and a paid log that shows its sources. Numify offers photo, voice, barcode and label scanning, and its US store sells access by the week, three months or a year. Calsa has no weekly plans and no meal plans, and each entry shows where its calories come from. I read Numify’s store listings, terms and privacy policy for this comparison.

What does a day with each app look like?

On the US store listing, Numify describes photo recognition by AI, voice input you can edit, a scanner for barcodes and nutrition labels, and a search of its database. Around the log it lists a calorie calculator, custom calorie and macro goals, an AI nutrition coach, meal plans for low-calorie, keto, vegan, Mediterranean and high-protein diets, recipes, weight charts, a daily dashboard, home screen widgets and a water tracker. It also syncs with Apple Health and tracks activity.

The same page says the database holds 5+ million foods and 100,000+ restaurant items. That’s the app’s own claim, and I didn’t test it. The listing links no product website, and the only pages I could read on the maker’s side are the terms and privacy policy on Municorn’s domain. Numify is available on Android as well as iOS.

Here’s how a day goes in Calsa. Breakfast is one typed line: “oatmeal 250 g, banana”. Lunch is a photo, where Calsa names the foods, suggests grams and waits for you to confirm the portion. The afternoon snack is a packaged bar, so you scan it, and if the barcode finds no match you photograph the label. Dinner at a chain restaurant comes with the numbers the chain itself publishes.

Search takes several foods at once, with grams, and puts what you usually eat at that meal first. Select a few entries and you can move, repeat or delete them together, with an undo. A half-typed entry survives the app closing. Water counts by the glass, and the fluid in everything else you log adds to it.

Weight goes in whenever you like and shows as a smoothed trend instead of daily jumps. You can hide the weight number. You can also hide calories and nutrients altogether and bring them back later. There are no streaks to keep alive, so a missed week costs nothing and the reminders go quiet.

What does the subscription gate, and what comes with every Calsa plan?

The app’s terms say the subscription covers logging food across multiple days, tracking macronutrients and using the barcode scanner. That implies limits on all three without it, but the exact limits of a version without payment are not stated on its site. The store text says “AI-powered” and lists Plus and Premium subscriptions without saying which feature sits where.

Numify, per the store text and terms Calsa, every plan
Photo logging AI photo recognition; plan not stated Yes, you confirm the portion
Voice Voice input and editing Type or say it; speech becomes text on your phone
Barcode and label Barcode and nutrition label scanner Barcode, and a label photo when there’s no match
Multi-day logging, macros Tied to the subscription by the terms Included
Meal plans Low-calorie, keto, vegan, Mediterranean, high-protein None
Recipes Listed Your own, built from ingredients or a photo
Coach or chat AI nutrition coach AI chat, labelled as AI
Home screen widgets Yes None
Water Water tracker By the glass, plus the fluid in what you log
Apple Health Integration Apple Health and Health Connect, both directions
Restaurant food 100,000+ items, per the store text Chain dishes with the chain’s published numbers

Calsa’s three plans, Calsa Start, Calsa and Calsa Premium, differ in one place. All of the tracking is in every plan, and the AI chat is what changes. The chat sees your diary, your goal and your weight trend, and its numbers come from the food database. Ask by voice, fix an entry in words, or ask about the screen you’re on. The weekly review, up to two ideas for the week, and the tools that read a menu photo or a fridge photo come with Calsa and Calsa Premium. A monthly review and answers read aloud belong to Calsa Premium.

Compare the two coaches on what’s written down. Numify’s page calls its coach an AI nutrition coach and lists meal plans beside it. Calsa’s chat gives no diagnoses and no treatment advice, never messages you first, and lets you see, edit or delete what it remembers.

How much does Numify cost on each storefront?

Each App Store page lists ten in-app purchases, and the US page adds a subscriptions shelf with lengths. I read all four storefronts.

Storefront Lowest of ten rows Highest of ten rows Row named “Limited Offer”
United States $5.99 (“Plus”) $59.99 (“Calorie Counter Plus”, 2 rows) $19.99
United Kingdom £4.99 (“Calorie Counter Plus”, 2 rows) £44.99 (“Calorie Counter Pro 12M Installment”) £19.99
Canada $6.99 (4 rows) $49.99 (“Calorie Counter Plus”, 2 rows) $24.99
Australia $7.99 (3 rows) $69.99 (“Calorie Counter Pro 12M Installment”) $29.99

Names rarely carry a period. The US page is the exception, and it names three lengths: one week at $5.99, 3 months at $29.99 and one year at $69.99. The weekly line comes from the store description, which says a $5.99 row called “Calorie Calculator: Track Food” gives all Premium features for 1 week. The same row name costs £5.99 in the UK, $7.99 in Canada and $9.99 in Australia, but those pages name no period.

Put the lengths on one scale. Three months at $29.99 is $10.00 a month, and one year at $69.99 is $5.83. A weekly row renewed all year costs 52 × $5.99 = $311.48, about $25.96 a month and 4.5 times the yearly price. Weekly access is cheap to start and expensive to forget.

Two storefronts also list a row named “Calorie Counter Pro 12M Installment”, at £44.99 in the UK and $69.99 in Australia. The store page doesn’t define it. By its name it is a 12-month plan paid in installments, but no page I read says so, so I’m not counting it as an annual price.

Trials are murky. The terms say some subscriptions include a trial at a reduced price that renews into a paid plan, and the store list has a “Limited Offer” row. The trial length is not stated on its site. Since the names mostly omit the period, check it on the purchase screen before you pay.

Calsa works the other way round. The price, the trial length, the first charge date and how to cancel appear before anything else, and a reminder comes before the trial ends. There are no weekly plans, only monthly or yearly, and the first period costs the same as the ones after it. Checkout has no discount wheels, countdown timers or one-time offers. Your price stays fixed while your subscription is active, and the numbers live on the billing page.

Where do the numbers come from, and how do you cancel or leave?

What does a figure in the log rest on? The store text names a size for the database and says nothing about where a number comes from. I found no help center or FAQ for the app, so there was no page to read on how entries are built or corrected.

Calsa puts the source on every number. An entry shows where its calories come from and the math, “per 100 g × grams”, and an amount you haven’t confirmed is marked “estimate”. Past days stay put. Send a correction on a shared food and it changes after review.

Cancelling is spelled out in the terms. On iOS, open Settings, tap your name, then Subscriptions, pick the subscription and tap Cancel Subscription. On Android, go to the Play Store, then Payments and Subscriptions, then Subscriptions, then Cancel subscription. In the app it’s Settings, then Manage subscription, then Cancel Subscription. Support cannot cancel for you.

Leaving with your data takes an email. I found no self-service export. The privacy policy says to write to the support address to request access, correction, erasure or portability of your personal data, and it says account deletion is available in the app on iOS and Android.

If something goes wrong in Calsa, you email and a person replies within 24 hours. A public status page shows outages, and nothing you typed is lost during one. You cancel the way you subscribed, and nothing tries to talk you out of it. Everything exports on every plan. Once a subscription ends, you can still read, export and delete all of it, and your history waits if you return.

Numify vs Calsa: where do they differ, and who should pick which?

The Numify facts come from its store listings, terms and privacy policy, and I opened none of its paid screens. Calsa publishes this blog, so read the right-hand column as our description of ourselves.

Numify Calsa
Platforms iOS and Android Web, iPhone, iPad and Android, on one account
Starting point Subscription covers multi-day logging, macros, scanner; free limits not stated Paid from the start, with price, trial and cancel path first
Ways to log Photo AI, voice, barcode and label scan, database search Type or say, photo, barcode, label photo, search with grams, quick add
Plan lengths 1 week, 3 months, 1 year on the US store page Monthly or yearly only
Price on screen Rows include one named “Limited Offer” No timers, discount wheels or one-time offers
Source behind a number Database size claimed, source not stated Each entry shows its source and the math
Export Request by email Everything, on any plan
Cancelling Device settings or in the app; support can’t do it The way you subscribed

Where Calsa is weaker: Numify’s US page sells Premium features for a single week, while Calsa’s shortest plan is monthly. Calsa has no preset meal plans, no home screen widgets, no manual workout entry and no watch app. Numify claims 5+ million foods, a figure I did not test.

Choose something else if you want a ready-made keto or vegan plan, a widget on your home screen or one week of Premium access.

Three readers show how the choice splits.

If you’re curious about AI logging and want to test it for a few days, Numify’s weekly access gets you there cheaply, as long as you note the renewal date. If you eat on a plan, say Mediterranean or high-protein, Numify lists plans for those diets and Calsa lists none.

For a person who wants to know why an entry says what it says, Calsa is built for that question, since each entry shows its source and the math. And for someone who uses the web at a desk and the phone on the move, Calsa runs on both under one account.

How do you move from Numify to Calsa?

Start with the clock. Note the date your paid period ends, then send nothing until you know it, because a data request and a renewal can collide.

  1. Find your cancel route in iOS or Android settings, or in the app under Manage subscription.
  2. If the plan is weekly, set a reminder for the day before the renewal.
  3. Email Numify’s support for a portability request. There’s no button for it.
  4. Log one ordinary day in both apps and compare the entries line by line.
  5. Take Calsa’s short quiz for a calorie goal, or track without one. A goal below the safe calorie floor isn’t saved.
  6. Connect Apple Health or Health Connect so weight, steps and active energy come in.

Whatever file Numify sends back, Calsa can import a CSV and shows a preview before it saves anything. I haven’t tested a Numify file against it. Your own foods stay private to your account, so rebuilding the ten things you eat most takes an evening at most. The wider checklist is in how to choose a calorie counter app, the Numify app alternative article goes deeper on its rows, and every comparison is under choosing a calorie app.

Questions and answers

How much does Numify cost?

The US App Store page listed $5.99 for one week, $29.99 for three months and $69.99 for one year. The UK, Canada and Australia pages list ten purchase rows each and name no period for most of them.

Is there a free version of Numify?

The pages don't say. The terms tie logging across multiple days, macro tracking and the barcode scanner to the subscription, but the limits of a version without payment are not stated on its site.

Does Numify have a free trial?

The trial length is not stated on any page I read. The terms say some subscriptions include a trial at a reduced price that renews into a paid plan, and the store list has a row named Limited Offer.

How do you cancel Numify?

On iOS, open Settings, your name, then Subscriptions. On Android, use Payments and Subscriptions in the Play Store. In the app, use Settings and Manage subscription. The terms say support cannot cancel on your behalf.

Can you export your data from Numify?

I found no self-service export. The privacy policy says you can email a request for access, correction, erasure or portability, and account deletion is available in the app on iOS and Android.

Sources

  1. Calorie Counter by Numify, US App Store listing, Apple App Store
  2. Calorie Counter by Numify, UK App Store listing, Apple App Store
  3. Calorie Counter by Numify, Canada App Store listing, Apple App Store
  4. Calorie Counter by Numify, Australia App Store listing, Apple App Store
  5. Calorie Counter by Numify on Google Play, Google Play
  6. Calorie Counter terms, Municorn Limited, Municorn Limited
  7. Calorie Counter privacy policy, Municorn Limited, Municorn Limited

About the author

Claire Donovan

Editor, Calsa blog

Claire edits the Calsa blog. She writes about calorie counting, protein and the small questions that come up in your first weeks of tracking.

All articles by Claire

Put the numbers to work.

The guides show where each number comes from. In Calsa you log a meal by photo, voice or barcode, check the grams, and every calorie shows its source.

Log my first meal
A snack board of hummus, carrot and cucumber sticks, crackers, cheese, grapes and walnutsCalsa entry details: 71 kcal per 100 g times 250 g, with USDA as the source